07
Aug
08

Orin B. Hatch

Well, this is Utah after all

Well, this is Utah after all

I pass this mailbox every day when I go to work. I love how aged and weathered it looks. I also did a double take when I saw that the name on top reads Orin B. Hatch…not to be confused with the US Senator Orrin G. Hatch. I thought it was kind of funny and made for an interesting photo nonetheless.

6 Responses to “Orin B. Hatch”


  1. 1 Cory Long
    September 18, 2008 at 11:20 pm

    This is a very cool shot.

  2. 2 Naimi
    September 25, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    What setting did you use on this? Or is this a photoshop enhancement?

  3. 3 Bockady
    September 26, 2008 at 1:22 am

    Name, I did edit the ‘raw’ file in Photoshop.

  4. 4 Pat Davis
    March 18, 2009 at 3:39 am

    My sister-in-law called me on the phone and gave me this website. That’s my dad’s mail box! What a hoot! It has since been taken down due to the widening of Camp Williams Road. Dad intends to put it back up with a little sprucing up of course, after the highway is finished. I could tell some stories about that mailbox…..I am going to print your picture and take my dad a copy. It is a great picture, thanks for the memory.

  5. 5 Bockady
    March 25, 2009 at 12:56 am

    Pat, I’m glad that the mailbox has been saved! I was sad to see it leave when they started the widening project. It seems like just shortly after I took this photo, the mailbox was gone. I really like the look of it and glad you appreciate this photo!

  6. April 3, 2009 at 4:59 am

    Hi, I grew up with that mailbox. I am Orin’s youngest daughter.
    I am going to make a copy of this artical. That will make my father happy. He is 90 years old and my mother is 88 years old and they have been in the same place for over 55 years.
    I live next door to them and help them when they need it. They still get around pretty good.
    To think that they have seen the changes in the world for as long as they have, it amazes me.
    Sharon Hatch Seal


Leave a Reply

